Candidates in Focus

Do you know which political candidate is the best choice for you and your community? ‘Ōlelo Community Media invites you to meet the candidates running for office in this year’s elections.

CANDIDATES IN FOCUS is an ‘Ōlelo election service that offers candidates for O‘ahu or statewide offices the opportunity to record an unedited message up to 5 minutes in length.  Messages are placed into programs featuring other candidates from the same contest and cablecast before the election.

Candidates in Focus programming for the General Election will be posted October 16.  Candidates are indexed within the media player.

AIRDATES – CHANNEL 49 – Candidates In Focus

General Group 1: North and West Oʻahu Candidates (‘ŌleloNet)     (YouTube)

Mākua to ʻEwa Beach
Senate 21
Mike Gabbard

Senate 22
Maile S.L. Shimabukuro

House 41
Matthew S. (Matt) LoPresti
House 45
Tiana Wilbur

North Shore to Mililani Mauka to Kahaluʻu
Senate 18
Michelle N. Kidani
Mary Smart

House 46
John E. Miller
House 48
Wendell A. Elento

Mililani to Kunia to ʻEwa
House 36
Rachele Fernandez Lamosao
Veamoniti Lautaha

House 40
Rose Martinez

General Group 2: Central Oʻahu Candidates (‘ŌleloNet)     (YouTube)

Downtown to Nuʻuanu to ʻAiea Heights
City Council VI

Tyler Dos Santos-Tam
Senate 12
Blake Boyd
Sharon Y. Moriwaki
Senate 13
Karl Rhoads
House 29

Carole Kauhiwai Kaapu
John M. Mizuno

Kalihi to Hickam to Halawa
Senate 14
Cheryl Rzonca

Senate 15
Lorene A. Godfrey
House 28

Ernest Caravalho
Daniel Holt
House 30
P.M. Azinga
House 32
Garner M. Shimizu

Waipahu to Waipiʻo to ʻAiea
City Council VIII
Val Aquino Okimoto
Senate 16
Patricia Yuki Beekman

Senate 17
Anna Misako Hudson
House 35

Josiah P. Araki
House 37
Jamie A. Detwiler
Ryan I. Yamane
House 38
Lauren Cheape Matsumoto
Marilyn B. Lee

General Group 3: East Oʻahu Candidates (‘ŌleloNet)     (YouTube)

Kāneʻohe to Waimānalo
Senate 24
Antionette Fernandez
Jarrett Keohokalole
House 51

Lisa Marten

Hawaiʻi Kai to Waikīkī
City Council IV
Kaleo Nakoa

House 19

Mark Jun Hashem
House 20
Bertrand (Bert) Kobayashi
House 24
Jillian T. Anderson
Adrian Tam

Kaimukī to Makiki to Mānoa
House 21
Julia E. Allen
House 26
Della Au Belatti
Charlotte Rosecrans

General Group 4: Statewide Candidates (‘ŌleloNet)     (YouTube)

Congressional Delegates
U.S. Senate
Feena M. Bonoan
Bob McDermott
U.S. Congressional District II

Joe Akana

Governor and Lieutenant Governor
Lieutenant Governor
Sylvia Luke

Seaula Jr. Tupai

Office of Hawaiian Affairs
OHA at Large
Brickwood Galuteria

Sam (Kalanikupua) King



Stay up-to-date on ‘Ōlelo’s election content with our mobile app, now available to download FREE via the App Store or Google Play. You can also scan this QR code to be directed straight to the App Store or Google Play.