About Us

Our Mission

To strengthen our island voices and advance community engagement through innovative media.

Our Story

In 1989, ‘Ōlelo Community Media became Oʻahu’s non-profit community Public, Education, and Government (PEG) access provider created to empower the voice of the community. Since then, ‘Ōlelo has evolved and expanded to better serve the diversity of our unique island community. Today, when you view any one of ‘Ōlelo’s four cable channels, VOD channels, or online channels, you will find unique and local stories from hundreds of dedicated community producers about our island, our people, the many cultures we share, and the issues we face.

From a small one-room office in the late 80s, we now have six media centers around the island, each designed to enable you to tell the stories that matter to you. Whether your goal is to educate, entertain, or inform, ‘Ōlelo is here to empower you to share your stories using the powerful medium of video.

‘Ōlelo provides access to media training, production facilities, and air time on our cable and online outlets to deliver non-commercial programming – without the costs and constraints of traditional television. Guided by our core values of teamwork, integrity, and aloha, we facilitate meaningful dialogue and increased participation in civic life. Our neighborhood-based Media Service Centers (MSCs) provide convenient access to our services across Oʻahu. Each MSC is committed to providing all members of the community an accessible and welcoming environment to create and distribute media. Whether you live on the Waiʻanae Coast, North Shore, Windward side or East Honolulu there is a media center near you.

‘Ōlelo also provides innovative technology, including state-of-the-art video equipment, studios, and facilities.  We broadcast community programming on high quality distribution equipment not only on cable providers here on Oʻahu, but also 24/7 on the Internet worldwide.  We encourage you to share your stories, your message, and engage with the diverse group of individuals who call Oʻahu our home.  It is through sharing of our local stories that we connect ourselves with those around the island and around the world.  When our voice thrives, so does our community.

Our Staff




Jack Bates – Senior Advisor and Marketing Manager

Eloise Harris – Community Relations Manager

Jo-Lynn Domingo – Media Services Coordinator

Dane Neves – Communications Specialist

Evern Williams – Community Relations Specialist

Deron Kamisato – Video Editor


Wes Akamine – Senior Manager, Training

Jennifer Nakamura – Training Coordinator

Kaimukī CMC:

Kekoa Graham – Media Services Manager, Kaimukī

Anne Selby – Media Services Associate

Brandee Lima – Media Services Associate

Kāneʻohe CMC:

Donna Ylen – Media Services Manager, Kāneʻohe

Corinne Makahilahila – Media Services Associate

Alexander Miyamoto – Media Services Associate

Māpunapuna CMC:

Ku’uipo Rossiter – Media Services Manager, Māpunapuna

Wayne Yun – Senior Media Services Associate

Edgar Sagayaga – Media Services Associate

Keoni Alvarez – Media Services Associate

Margaret “Marge” Streb – Media Services Associate

Antonette “Anne” Fontanilla – Media Services Associate

Nānākuli CMC:

Jimbo Taylor – Media Services Manager, Nānākuli

Kourtney Keohuhu – Media Services Associate

Kayla Thomas – Media Services Associate

Studio at the Capitol:

Jon Wong – Media Services Manager, Studio at the Capitol

Scott Nordquist – Media Services Associate

Wahiawā CMC:

Jonette Buza – Media Services Manager, Wahiawā

Brandyn Proctor – Media Services Associate

Filipo Tuisano – Media Services Associate

Waipahu CMC:

Neal Rivera – Media Services Manager, Waipahu

Justin Kuwamura – Senior Media Services Associate

William Nakao – Media Services Associate





Pat Dukes – Controller

Alyssa Coloma – Accountant

Lee Ann Freitas – Accounting Associate

Human Resources and Developmental Projects:

Vera-Lynn Kamaka – Volunteer Program Manager

Dawn Mezurashi – Human Resource Assistant

Kapua Segool – Developmental Projects Coordinator



Rona Shibuya – Senior Administrative Assistant

Information Technology:

Todd Yamamoto – IT/Playback Manager

Michael Doran – Information Technology Technician

Steven Cutrell – Systems Administrator


Cherisse Ferreira – Programming Manager

Dominique Martinez – Programmer

Jocelyn Ota – Programmer


Russel Cabral – Senior Playback Technician

Gabriel Killhour – Playback Technician

Milton Onna – Playback Technician

Tinkle Malama – Playback Technician

Walter Ferreira – Playback Technician


Jimmy Galam – Senior Broadcast Engineer

Melvin Kouchiyama – Senior Bench Technician

Pacita Corpuz – Custodian

Robbie Omura – Technical Operations Specialist



Sanford Inouye – President & Chief Executive Officer

Angela Angel – Chief Production Officer

Chris Lam – Chief Technology & Administration Officer

Dawne DePonte – Director of Finance & Administration

Hanalei Aipoalani – Director of Human Resources & Developmental Projects


Special Announcement

Nominations for a seat on ‘Ōlelo’s Board of Directors are now being accepted.  Click on the purple buttons for more information.

2018 'Ōlelo Board Election Fact Sheet 2018 'Ōlelo Board Election Nomination Form